Student Representative

Council (SRC) Inauguration

By: PETERS FUBARA

Wednesday, 14th March 2018 marked the beginning of a new era for the 2018 Student Representative Council

(SRC) of Shandong University Cheeloo College of Medicine as it successfully transitioned from one president to another, duly elected by our students. It was indeed an epoch making event along with the inauguration of the new members elected in August 2017.

The meeting commenced with a well-articulated welcome speech by Nagarajan Sethuraman, the newly elected president of the SRC. He encouraged the SRC to exhibit love, unity, dedication and team spirit when performing their duties. He equally pledged to show exemplary leadership in all his dealings during his term.

Also on ground to attend, was Ms Arthi Bahadoor (one of the three founding members of the SRC). She used the occasion to encourage the newly elected members to uphold the virtues of the SRC, as well as to build on the solid foundation laid by previous SRC members.





dation. Thus, in closing, an internal election was held to elect chairs of each respective division. SRC Structure 2018 President Nagarajan Sethuraman (2015)Tevin Lyle Pillay (2014-1) Vice President

Secretary

Treasurer

Messages of goodwill were passed from International Students Office Director, the lovely Ms Helen. She encouraged the newly elected members to see this election as an opportunity to create fulfilling student activities on campus that will leave a lasting and memorable impact on the lives of every student on our campus. She equally promised to give the SRC the much needed, invaluable guidance and support that will help fulfil their goals.

As a follow up on this, there is an ongoing collaboration between the SRC and the Chinese Student Association. It was initiated by the SRC president to promote joint student activities and interactions between the Chinese students and the international students on campus. This will ensure exchange of ideas and cultures in a way that showcases unity among different nationals present in SDU.

Publicity Division

Chair: Talia Unice (2014-1)

Members:

- Ong Suet Yee (2014-1)
- Inomasa Rukoro (2016)
- Zain Ul Abdin Mohammed Ramzan (2017)
- Pranesh Palanisamy (2017)
- Srihari Vidhul Prabhan (2017)

Accomodation Division

Chair: Peters Fubara (2015) Members:

- Keshini Munthree (2014-1)
- Seyed Keyvan Kalati (2017)

Alumni Division

Chair: Abdelrahman Ahmed Amir Hafez Sadik Bakr (2014-2)

Honorary member (Photographer): Chitra Paul

Interaction Division

Christian Ndlovu (2015)

Nkonge Haroonah (2014-

Chair: Melanie Pillay (2014-1)

Members:

- Keshini Munthree (2014-1)

SRC divisions and areas of inter-

est include Student Academics, Alumni, Publicity, Interaction and Accommo-

- Jeet Sunariwal (2015)
- Antonia Kivuna Bugonzi (2017)

Academic Division

Chair: Rishub Shanthakumar (2016)

Members:

- Ashish Rowen Babulal (2014-1)
- Jeet Sunariwal (2015)
- Maher Ahmad Alahmar (2017)
- Mayuri Khapekar (2016)
- Muhammad Omeir (2016)
- Inomasa Rukoro (2016)
- Zain Ul Abdin Mohammed Ramzan (2017)
- Muhammed Qaasim Karbelkar (2017)



The 2018 SRC has indeed started as a bright light that promises to shine on the path of all students of Shandong University Cheeloo College of Medicine. We can only hope to keep this fire alight for all times to come.